Nine power utilities in the Tennessee Valley were recently recognized by the American Public Power Association as RP3 designees for demonstrating high proficiency in four key areas: reliability, safety, workforce development, and system improvement. These nine municipalities join more than 270 public power utilities nationwide that hold the RP3 designation, which lasts for three years.

TVPPA members awarded the 2021 RP3 designation are:
BrightRidge, Knoxville Utilities Board, Lewisburg Electric System, McMinnville Electric System, Memphis Light, Gas & Water, Municipal Utilities Board of the City of Albertville, Paris Utility Authority, and Tullahoma Utilities Authority.

Additionally, nine TVPPA members received the American Public Power Association’s Safety Award of Excellence for safe operating practices in 2020, a year of extreme weather and concerns of the pandemic. Those members are:

Bolivar Energy Authority, Bowling Green Municipal Utilities, Bristol Tennessee Essential Services, Hopkinsville Electric System, Huntsville Utilities, McMinnville Electric System, Morristown Utilities, Ripley Power and Light, and Scottsboro Electric Power Board.

“Once again the Tennessee Valley has been well-represented in APPA’s award programs that recognize excellence,” said Danette Scudder, Executive Vice President of TVPPA and former RP3 panelist. “These acknowledgments celebrate the adherence to high standards and dedication to best practices that TVPPA members embody.”